We Will Revive The Canceled Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) And Conduct Fresh Local Government Elections Completed

  • Gov. Fayemi inaugurates 13-man committee to commence move to create LCDAs

    Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti state has inaugurated a 13-member committee to critically examine and recommend to the government the viability and economic sustainability of the planned creation of Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) from the existing 16 Local Government Areas (LGAs) in State.

    …Speaking during the inauguration ceremony at the State Executive Council Chamber, Governor’s office in Ado Ekiti on Monday, Governor Fayemi said the move was in a bid to bring government nearer to the people and to stimulate rapid development in the rural areas in line with his administration’s five-pillar development agenda.

    He noted that agitations for the creation of new LCDAs continued to top the list of demands in the various consultative meetings held with stakeholders across communities in the State since the inception of his administration.

    Source: Business Day

  • Gov Fayemi receives Committee Report on LCDA Creation

    The Governor of Ekiti State, Dr. Kayode Fayemi has set up an inter-ministerial committee to oversee the implementation of findings and recommendations made by the Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) Creation Committee.

    Dr Fayemi disclosed this while receiving the reports and recommendations of the Committee on creation of LCDAs in Ado-Ekiti on Tuesday.

    The LCDAs creation Committee, was set up in November, 2020 to examine and recommend to Government the viability and economic sustainability of the proposed LCDAs from the existing 16 local Government Areas (LGAs) in the State.

    The Governor said the establishment of the inter-ministerial committee became necessary to achieve a desirable outcome that would guarantee an equitable distribution of resources and revenue arrangement for the sustainability of the LCDAs.

    The implementation Committee which is to be chaired by the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Hon Wale Fapohunda, has three months to submit its report.

    Commending members of the Committee for honouring the call to serve the State, Dr Fayemi assured that their report would receive necessary administrative attention.

    Read More/Source : Ekiti State Website

  • Fayemi Sends Bill for Creation of 19 LCDAs in Ekiti

    In order to make governance close to the people, the Ekiti State Governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, has sent a bill for the creation of 19 Local Council Development Authorities (LCDAs) in the state to the state’s House of Assembly for legislative consideration.

    The bill titled the “Creation of Local Government Bill, 2021,” was sent yesterday August 3 by the governor through the state’s Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr. Wale Fapohunda.

    The proposed 19 LCDAs are: Ado Central LCDA, Ado North LCDA, Ado West LCDA, Ajoni LCDA, Araromi LCDA, Ekameta LCDA, Ekiti South East LCDA, Ero LCDA, Gbonyin LCDA and Ifedara LCDA.

    Others include Ifeloju LCDA, Ifesowopo LCDA, Igbara-Odo/Ogotun LCDA, Ikere West LCDA, Ikole West LCDA, Irede LCDA, Irewolede LCDA, Isokan LCDA and Okemesi/Ido-Ile LCDA.

    Read more/Source: THISDAY

  • Ekiti Assembly Approves Creation Of 19 LCDAs

    The Ekiti State House of Assembly has approved the creation of 19 Local Council Development Areas (LCDA) in the state.

    The approval followed the passage of a bill for a law to provide for the creation of new Local Government Areas in Ekiti State and other Related Matters (2021).

    The bill had on Wednesday passed all the expected readings and was unanimously passed into law at the plenary presided over by the Speaker, Rt Hon. Funminiyi Afuye.

    Legislators expressed optimism that the initiative would further ensure the delivery of the dividends of democracy to the grassroots.

    The state lawmakers were unanimous in their call for a speedy passage of the bill which amended the 2014 Principal law.

    Read More/Source: Channels TV

  • APC sweeps 35 Ekiti chairmanship seats as PDP kicks

    The ruling All Progressives Congress(APC) has swept all the 35 chairmanship seats and 176 out of 177 councillorship seats in Saturday’s local government elections in Ekiti State.

    The council elections took place across the 16 local government areas and 19 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) as well as the 177 wards in the state.

    The main opposition the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) boycotted the election, claiming that the ruling APC is incapable of conducting any free, fair and credible poll.

    Six political parties that participated are APC, Action Alliance(AA), African Democratic Congress(ADC), Young Progressives Party(YPP), National Rescue Movement(NRM) and the All Progressives Grand Alliance(APGA).

    Declaring the results, the Chairman of the State Independent Electoral Commission, Justice Jide Aladejana, said the APC won 176 out of the 177 councilorship seats available in the State.

    Read more : The Nation Online